Yesterday I Breathed

9:05 “Shit shit shit!!” Hour late waking and light speed mascara application.

9:49 “Brianne Brianne Brianne!” Sunlight and sun-skirts and pure elation.

10:15 I wish I knew them better. I wish I was part of the conversation. I wish I knew the songs they’re playing.

10:23 “and that’s how you Trader Joe’s.”

10:27 “please don’t let my laugh be awkward”, I’m praying.

11:04

11:04 This Savers makes me wish I knew them way back during Sadie’s.

12:09 Film camera, blueberries, and chamomile flowers.

1:12 I could talk to them for hours…

2:03 “Taylor can you help me with my makeup?” My god, they’re all so pretty!

7:49 This bread is making me giddy.

8:21 “what are you thinking about?” I feel too full and too big and like I’m being too much. “Just the Del Taco over there.”

9:12 I can’t see, I can’t hear, I can’t think, I can’t breathe.

10:17 Tripping on shoes, corsages underneath.

11:19 I never want this night to end.

2:39 “Mom, I think I made some friends!!!”

I know the title is dramatic,

and the honesty isn’t honest enough.

But truly,

when they played Self Control and all of the seniors linked arms,

I didn’t feel like crying.

I felt like screaming for joy at the top of my lungs.

High school has come and gone,

along with friends, opportunities, and memories.

And I feel no need to make time extend.

3:42 Now happily, into sleep I can ascend.

“today I am just a girl”- Cherry

Read, please 😽

5 thoughts on “Yesterday I Breathed

Leave a comment